MWR Results

 18th     David Ragan

 19th     Clint Bowyer


David Ragan Race Summary: No. 55 Aaron’s Dream Machine driver David Ragan finished 18th in Saturday night’s NASCAR Sprint Cup race at Kentucky Speedway. The Michael Waltrip Racing driver started 25th after rain limited practice and cancelled qualifying on Friday. It didn’t take Ragan long to show his Toyota was one of the fastest cars on the track Saturday night. The Georgian moved to ninth after the lap 30 competition caution. Ragan continued moving toward the front running as high as third at lap 125-mark. NASCAR’s new rules package designed to reduce downforce created frantic side-by-side racing throughout the 400-mile event that included 22 green flag passes for the lead and 11 cautions. As the race wound down, Ragan lost spots as he struggled with the car’s handling in traffic and finished 18th. Ragan and the No. 55 Aaron’s team return to action Sunday at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.


  • Started 25th and finished 18th
  • Moved to ninth after the lap 30 competition caution
  • Climbed to third at the lap 125 mark
  • Handling issues in the final stages cost him chance for better finish


RAGAN: “I was encouraged with our Aaron’s Dream Machine. The first half of the race, I felt we were a top-10 car, but we just didn’t have the best pit selection and that really hurt us. We had to come in and around traffic each pit stop it seemed. Track position was really important. I think if we could have started the race up there in the top-10 or 12, it would have been easier to stay up there. We had a top-10 car. A little disappointed there at the end, but made a pretty good improvement with this aero package from unloading on Wednesday. All we can do is go back and learn and try to do a little better.”


Clint Bowyer Race Summary: No. 15 Casey’s General Store/Hughes General Contractors Toyota driver Clint Bowyer finished 19th in Saturday night’s 400-mile NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Kentucky Speedway. The Michael Waltrip Racing driver started 30th after rain limited practice and cancelled qualifying. Bowyer methodically worked his way toward the front of the field improving the No. 15 at each pit stop. Just after the halfway mark, Bowyer moved into the top 10. NASCAR’s new rules package designed to reduce downforce and create more passing certainly did its job as the field raced three and four abreast on the 1.5-mile oval creating 22 green flag passes for the lead and 11 cautions. Bowyer joined in the hard racing but his right rear tire lost air, causing a brush with the wall late in the race.  Ensuing handling issues in closing laps hampered more progress and he finished 19th. The No. 15 team returns to action Sunday at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.


  • Started 30th and finished 19th
  • Climbed into the top 10 just past the halfway mark
  • Brief brush with wall kept him from battling with leaders


BOWYER: “Well I hope the fans enjoyed that because I sure did. We did not have a very good practice Friday, but I was really encouraged early in the race because we were making progress.  After I had that tire going down and brushed the wall, we just got on the wrong side of adjustments at the end. This package made it a lot of fun to race … it was a ton of work, but definitely a lot of fun and I think we’re onto something here with this direction.”



  • Kyle Busch took the checkered flag 1.594 seconds ahead of Joey Logano
  • Denny Hamlin, Carl Edwards and Matt Kenseth rounded out the top five
  • Eleven cautions slowed the race for 49 laps
  • Race featured 13 lead changes among eight drivers


RESULTS (Unofficial)

1          Kyle Busch

2          Joey Logano

3          Denny Hamlin

4          Carl Edwards

5          Matt Kenseth

6          Brad Keselowski

7          Jeff Gordon

8          Kevin Harvick

9          Jimmie Johnson

10        Kurt Busch

11        Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

12        Aric Almirola

13        Trevor Bayne

14        Jamie McMurray

15        Paul Menard

16        Greg Biffle

17        Martin Truex Jr.

18        David Ragan

19        Clint Bowyer

20        Ryan Newman

21        Dale Earnhardt Jr.

22        Sam Hornish Jr.

23        Casey Mears

24        Justin Allgaier

25        Austin Dillon

26        AJ Allmendinger

27        Kasey Kahne

28        Landon Cassill

29        David Gilliland

30        Michael Annett

31        Alex Bowman

32        Brett Moffitt

33        Tony Stewart

34        Danica Patrick

35        Kyle Larson

36        Reed Sorenson

37        Cole Whitt

38        Will Kimmel

39        J.J. Yeley

40        Alex Kennedy

41        Jeb Burton

42        Matt DiBenedetto

43        Josh Wise



RK       DRIVER                      POINTS/WINS

1          Jimmie Johnson          624      4

2          Kevin Harvick              692      2

3          Dale Earnhardt Jr.       616      2

4          Kurt Busch                  542      2

5          Joey Logano               624      1

6          Martin Truex Jr.           596      1

7          Brad Keselowski         559      1

8          Matt Kenseth               540      1

9          Denny Hamlin             522      1

10        Carl Edwards              449      1

11        Jamie McMurray         556      0

12        Jeff Gordon                 537      0

13        Kasey Kahne              513      0

14        Paul Menard                509      0

15        Ryan Newman            497      0

16        Clint Bowyer                490      0

17        Kyle Busch                  200      2 To be eligible for the Chase, Busch must be in the top 30 (he is 35th now) of the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series standings following race number 26.

18        Aric Almirola                473      0

19        Greg Biffle                   420      0

20        Kyle Larson                 405      0

21        Casey Mears               399      0

22        Austin Dillon                398      0

23        Danica Patrick 396      0

24        AJ Allmendinger          370      0

25        David Ragan               362      0

26        Trevor Bayne              350      0

27        Ricky Stenhouse Jr.    344      0

28        Sam Hornish Jr.          343      0

29        Tony Stewart               342      0

30        Justin Allgaier             306      0

31        Cole Whitt                   287      0

32        David Gilliland             282      0

33        Alex Bowman              242      0

34        Michael Annett            208      0

35        Josh Wise                   186      0

36        Brett Moffitt                  245      0

37        Matt DiBenedetto        184      0

38        Michael McDowell       111      0

39        Jeb Burton                   108      0

40        Alex Kennedy              71        0

Read More News

Race Previews  |  Qualifying Reports  |  Race Reports  |  Press Releases