MWR Results

10th      Clint Bowyer

12th      David Ragan


Clint Bowyer Race Summary: No. 15 5-hour ENERGY Toyota driver Clint Bowyer finished 10th in Sunday night/Monday morning’s 400-mile NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Daytona International Speedway. The Michael Waltrip Racing driver started third in a race that began at 11:35 p.m. EDT and ended just before 3 a.m. Bowyer bided his time in the first half of the race, then began making his move with about 60 laps remaining. Bowyer charged to the front running several laps in third as the race wound down. As cars began jockeying for position in the closing laps, he got shuffled to ninth for the start of a green-white-checkered finish. Bowyer and the pack raced three and four abreast to the checkered flag with the No. 15 crossing the finish line in tenth. Just as the field took the checkered flag, a wild melee saw Austin Dillion’s car sail into the catchfence in one of NASCAR’s most dramatic accidents in recent memory. No drivers or fans were seriously injured. The team returns to action Saturday night at Kentucky Speedway.


  • Started third and finished 10th
  • Avoided several major accidents throughout race
  • Ran third with 20 laps remaining
  • Ran three and four wide in a green-white-checkered finish


BOWYER: “He (Austin Dillon) went over me. I went under him and thank God, the seas kind of opened a little bit. I’m glad everyone is OK. It’s just Daytona -- it’s wild. I got up there and got in position. Our old hot rod wasn’t quite what it needed to be but it was a decent day.”


David Ragan Race Summary: No. 55 Aaron’s Dream Machine driver David Ragan finished 12th in Sunday night/Monday morning’s NASCAR Sprint Cup race at Daytona International Speedway. Ragan’s finish came despite enduring three accidents in the race that ended just before 3 a.m. EDT. The No. 55 started eighth and raced safely near the back in the first half of the 160-lap race. As the laps wound down the action heated up. Ragan’s car was knocked into a spin during a multicar wreck with 55 laps remaining. He recovered and climbed to fifth with 40 to go before a backstretch spin dropped him to 18th. The green-white-checkered finish saw Ragan drive from 18th to 12th before he was collected in a melee at the start/finish line. The accident saw Austin Dillion slam into the catch fence ripping the car apart. No drivers or fans were seriously injured. Ragan and the No. 55 Aaron’s team return to action Saturday night at Kentucky Speedway.


  • Started eighth and finished 12th
  • Good finish despite enduring three accidents
  • Raced at the back in first half of race then ran as high as fifth in closing laps
  • Race ended just before 3 a.m. EDT Monday


RAGAN: “What a day and night and morning. I’m glad we could put on a show for everyone who came to Daytona or stayed up to watch on television. Everything seemed to happen to us but we never gave up and earned a pretty good finish. I think the Aaron’s Dream Machine was fast and we were looking good there running fifth with (teammate) Clint (Bowyer.) I’m glad everyone came out of that last lap wreck OK. I’m sure that wreck will be replayed millions of times in the coming week.”



  • Dale Earnhardt Jr. took the checkered flag 0.122 seconds ahead of Jimmie Johnson
  • Denny Hamlin, Kevin Harvick and Kurt Busch rounded out the top five
  • Nine cautions slowed the race for 43 laps
  • Race featured 22 lead changes among 12 drivers
  • Rain pushed the start of the race to 11:35 p.m. EDT


RESULTS (Unofficial)

1          Dale Earnhardt Jr.

2          Jimmie Johnson

3          Denny Hamlin

4          Kevin Harvick

5          Kurt Busch

6          Jeff Gordon

7          Austin Dillon

8          Ryan Newman

9          Trevor Bayne

10        Clint Bowyer

11        Casey Mears

12        David Ragan

13        Landon Cassill

14        Tony Stewart

15        Jamie McMurray

16        Paul Menard

17        Kyle Busch

18        Justin Allgaier

19        Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

20        Greg Biffle

21        AJ Allmendinger

22        Joey Logano

23        Matt Kenseth

24        Alex Bowman

25        Cole Whitt

26        Matt DiBenedetto

27        Brett Moffitt

28        Brendan Gaughan

29        Brad Keselowski

30        Sam Hornish Jr.

31        Josh Wise

32        Kasey Kahne

33        J.J. Yeley

34        Aric Almirola

35        Danica Patrick

36        Jeb Burton

37        Michael Annett

38        Martin Truex Jr.

39        Kyle Larson

40        David Gilliland

41        Carl Edwards

42        Brian Scott

43        Bobby Labonte



RK       DRIVER                      POINTS/WINS

1          Jimmie Johnson          589      4

2          Kevin Harvick              656      2

3          Dale Earnhardt Jr.       593      1

4          Kurt Busch                  508      2

5          Joey Logano               581      1

6          Martin Truex Jr.           569      1

7          Brad Keselowski         520      1

8          Matt Kenseth               501      1

9          Denny Hamlin             480      1

10        Carl Edwards              408      1

11        Jamie McMurray         526      0

12        Jeff Gordon                 500      0

13        Kasey Kahne              496      0

14        Paul Menard                480      0

15        Ryan Newman            472      0

16        Clint Bowyer                465      0

17        Kyle Busch                  152      1

18        Aric Almirola                441      0  To be eligible for the Chase, Busch must be in the top 30 of the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series standings following race number 26.

19        Kyle Larson                 395      0

20        Greg Biffle                   392      0

21        Danica Patrick 386      0

22        Austin Dillon                379      0

23        Casey Mears               378      0

24        AJ Allmendinger          352      0

25        David Ragan               336      0

26        Tony Stewart               331      0

27        Sam Hornish Jr.          321      0

28        Trevor Bayne              319      0

29        Ricky Stenhouse Jr.    311      0

30        Justin Allgaier             286      0

31        Cole Whitt                   280      0

32        David Gilliland             267      0

33        Alex Bowman              228      0

34        Michael Annett            194      0

35        Josh Wise                   185      0

Read More News

Race Previews  |  Qualifying Reports  |  Race Reports  |  Press Releases