MWR Results

3rd      Clint Bowyer

39th    David Ragan


Clint Bowyer Race Summary: No. 15 5-hour ENERGY Toyota driver Clint Bowyer finished a season-best third in Sunday’s 110-lap NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Sonoma Raceway. The Michael Waltrip Racing driver started sixth and took over the lead on the lap 26 restart. Bowyer battled for the lead several times throughout the race and proved to be one of the cars to beat all afternoon. A caution flag flew with just 11 laps remaining and crew chief Billy Scott called his driver to pit road for four tires and fuel. With several drivers opting not to pit, Bowyer restarted sixth, the first car on new tires, with seven laps remaining in the race. On the restart, the Emporia, Kan. native was not in the preferred line and it took several laps to get around the cars that did not pit. In the closing laps, Bowyer drove to the bumper of leader Kyle Busch but could never get past him. Bowyer crossed the finish line third. The 5-hour ENERGY team returns to action Sunday night at Daytona International Speedway.


  • Started sixth and finished third
  • Led once for four laps and ran near front of the field throughout race
  • Bowyer is one point outside of the 16 driver Chase field
  • Battled for the lead in the closing laps and crossed finish line third
  • Best finish of the 2015 season and first top five this season


BOWYER: “I think we were probably a second or third-place car. It seemed like for whatever reason the 48 (Jimmie Johnson) came on really good there. The 41 (Kurt Busch) was probably the fastest car all weekend long. We were right there with him. Fun to come out here in wine country and be able to compete like that. This is where we need to be running. We need to be able to go to these regular race tracks and keep this momentum and confidence level up that we have when we come out here. It’s unfortunate (not getting the victory) – you get that close and you want to get greedy.”


David Ragan Race Summary: No. 55 Aaron’s Dream Machine driver David Ragan finished 39th in Sunday’s NASCAR Sprint Cup race at Sonoma Raceway. Ragan started ninth and raced around the top 10 until the first caution on lap 21. After the caution, Ragan restarted 16th and raced there until another caution flag flew on lap 29. Ragan worked his way back into the top 10 on lap 40 and raced in sixth with just 35 laps remaining. It looked like the Georgia native was poised for his first career top-10 finish at Sonoma Raceway. Unfortunately, on the lap 78 restart Ragan and Carl Edwards battled for position and made hard contact in the esses. The Aaron’s Dream Machine Toyota was damaged beyond repair in the crash. Ragan and the No. 55 Aaron’s team return to action Sunday night at Daytona International Raceway. 


  • Started ninth and finished 39th
  • Ran in the top 10 for most of the race
  • Made contact with the No. 19 of Carl Edwards on lap 80 ending his day


RAGAN: “We had a great Aaron’s Dream Machine; I can’t say enough about everybody at Michael Waltrip Racing and Toyota for working hard and really bringing some fast Camrys out here. I felt like we had a chance to win this thing today. Just proud of Brian Pattie (crew chief) and everybody for giving me a chance to run well here. Carl (Edwards) and I were just racing hard for spots. We both had good Toyota Camrys. We had good tires, we had a very, very fast Aaron’s Dream Machine and I just can’t layover on these restarts. I don’t even think I was aggressive, I think I was just holding my own. We were racing for a spot. It looked like Carl got over the rumble strips and we just touched. Carl and I are really good friends and certainly no hard feelings. We will be ready for Daytona.”



  • Kyle Busch took the checkered flag 0.532 seconds ahead of Kurt Busch
  • Clint Bowyer, Kevin Harvick and Joey Logano rounded out the top five
  • Five cautions slowed the race for 21 laps
  • Race featured nine lead changes among five drivers




1            Kyle Busch

2            Kurt Busch

3            Clint Bowyer

4            Kevin Harvick

5            Joey Logano

6            Jimmie Johnson

7            Dale Earnhardt Jr.

8            Kasey Kahne

9            Ryan Newman

10          Sam Hornish Jr.

11          Jamie McMurray

12          Tony Stewart

13          Paul Menard

14          Aric Almirola

15          Kyle Larson

16          Jeff Gordon

17          Austin Dillon

18          Denny Hamlin

19          Brad Keselowski

20          Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

21          Matt Kenseth

22          Cole Whitt

23          Trevor Bayne

24          Danica Patrick

25          Alex Kennedy

26          Boris Said

27          Greg Biffle

28          Josh Wise

29          Matt DiBenedetto

30          Justin Marks

31          Alex Bowman

32          Jeb Burton

33          Michael Annett

34          Michael McDowell

35          Justin Allgaier

36          Landon Cassill

37          AJ Allmendinger

38          Casey Mears

39          David Ragan

40          Carl Edwards

41          J.J. Yeley

42          Martin Truex Jr.

43          David Gilliland



RK       DRIVER                      POINTS/WINS

1          Jimmie Johnson          546      4

2          Kevin Harvick              616      2

3          Kurt Busch                  469      2

4          Martin Truex Jr.           563      1

5          Joey Logano               559      1

6          Dale Earnhardt Jr.       545      1

7          Brad Keselowski         505      1

8          Matt Kenseth               479      1

9          Denny Hamlin             438      1

10        Carl Edwards              405      1

11        Jamie McMurray         497      0

12        Kasey Kahne              483      0

13        Jeff Gordon                 462      0

14        Paul Menard                452      0

15        Ryan Newman            435      0

16        Aric Almirola                431      0

17        Kyle Busch                  125      1 (Needs to move into top 30 in season points to be Chase eligible)

18        Clint Bowyer                430      0

19        Kyle Larson                 390      0

20        Danica Patrick             377      0

21        Greg Biffle                   368      0

22        Casey Mears               345      0

23        Austin Dillon                341      0

24        AJ Allmendinger          329      0

25        Sam Hornish Jr.          307      0

26        David Ragan               304      0

27        Tony Stewart               301      0

28        Ricky Stenhouse Jr.    286      0

29        Trevor Bayne              284      0

30        David Gilliland             263      0

31        Cole Whitt                   261      0

32        Justin Allgaier             260      0

33        Alex Bowman              208      0

34        Michael Annett            187      0

35        Josh Wise                   171      0

Read More News

Race Previews  |  Qualifying Reports  |  Race Reports  |  Press Releases