1st         Clint Bowyer

11th       David Ragan


Clint Bowyer Race Summary: No. 15 Cherry 5-hour ENERGY Toyota to benefit Special Operations Warrior Foundation driver Clint Bowyer won Friday night’s Sprint Showdown at Charlotte Motor Speedway and automatically transferred into Saturday night’s Sprint All-Star Race. The Michael Waltrip Racing driver started fifth in the second of the two 20-lap segments after taking four tires. Bowyer made a daring three-wide pass on lap 22 to take the lead which he never relinquished. The No. 15 drove away from his competitors taking the checkered flag 1.51 seconds ahead of Paul Menard to earn his second consecutive Showdown victory. Bowyer joins the 20-car field for Saturday’s All-Star Race and should be a favorite to claim the $1 million top prize.


  • Qualified fourth and won the Sprint Showdown for the second consecutive year
  • Took four tires at the 20-lap break then made daring three-wide pass for the lead on lap 22
  • Victory means automatic transfer to Saturday’s $1 million Sprint All-Star Race


BOWYER: “He (Brian Pattie, crew chief) said to take four tires and I said, ‘Yeah, okay.’ Then everybody took two and I was like, ‘Oh no.’ we had a pretty good car – our 5-hour ENERGY Toyota was good especially on the long run. That gives me a little bit of confidence going into the 600. I think we’ll be a little bit better. I appreciate all the guys’ efforts and all their hard work. The way we’re running is not due to a lack of effort. It’s such a tough thing when you’re struggling and you’re trying to figure everything out – you’re running bad and you’re confidence gets beat up and you just can’t seem to figure it out. Just like anything in life, you keep digging and you keep working hard at it and eventually you’ll figure it out and we’ll have the success we’ve worked so hard for.”


David Ragan Race Summary: No. 55 Aaron’s Dream Machine Toyota driver David Ragan finished 11th in Friday night’s Sprint Showdown at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Ragan started third and raced in fifth at the 20-lap break. A two-tire stop during the break vaulted the No. 55 into first place. When the green flag dropped, Ragan and other leaders struggled to get a good restart allowing the drivers who took four tires to pass. Ragan’s Michael Waltrip Racing teammate Clint Bowyer made a daring three-wide pass for the lead and won the event. The No. 55 team returns to action in the Coca-Cola 600 next Sunday at Charlotte Motor Speedway.  


  • Qualified third and finished 11th
  • Two-tire stop at the 20-lap break vaulted Ragan from fifth to first
  • Could not take advantage of clean air on restart and lost positions to cars with four fresh tires
  • No. 55 returns to action next Sunday in the 600


RAGAN: “All in all we had a great day with our Aaron’s Dream Machine Camry and it would have been perfect if we could have advanced. In order to win a Showdown, All-Star race, short track, big track, you have to just be perfect and I wasn’t perfect tonight. I just buzzed the tires on my restart and the advantage of taking two is your clean air and when you fall back to fourth, fifth, sixth then you’re clean air is gone and you’re at a disadvantage. I made a mistake and I don’t really know what I would do to be any better. I’m a little baffled at why I was so terrible on that restart, but all in all we unloaded great and we improved on the car in practice, we had respectable speed in qualifying and we had really good speed in the race. All in all, it was a great day and we learned a lot. Very happy and proud of our Aaron’s Dream Machine team, but just disappointed that we couldn’t advance. We’ll come out here Saturday and cheer on our teammate Clint Bowyer to go and win the All-Star race.”



  • Sprint Showdown winner Clint Bowyer and first segment winner Greg Biffle advanced to Saturday night’s Sprint All-Star Race
  • Danica Patrick won the Sprint Fan Vote and advances to the All-Star Race as well
  • Bowyer made a three-wide pass on lap 22 to take the lead and win his second consecutive Sprint Showdown



Sprint Showdown Final Results:
1) Clint Bowyer

2) Paul Menard
3) Martin Truex Jr.
4) Sam Hornish Jr.
5) Chase Elliott
6) Austin Dillon
7) Trevor Bayne
8) Justin Allgaier
9) Danica Patrick
10) Casey Mears
11) David Ragan
12) Michael McDowell
13) David Gilliland
14) Cole Whitt
15) Matt DiBenedetto
16) Jeb Burton
17) Josh Wise
18) JJ Yeley
19) Jeff Green
20) Alex Kennedy
21) Tanner Berryhill
22) Brendan Gaughan
23) Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
24) Kyle Larson
25) Michael Annett
26) Alex Bowman
27) Landon Cassill
28) Mike Bliss

Read More News

Race Previews  |  Qualifying Reports  |  Race Reports  |  Press Releases