12th     Clint Bowyer

17th     Brett Moffitt


Clint Bowyer Race Summary: No. 15 5-hour ENERGY Toyota driver Clint Bowyer finished 12th in Sunday night’s rain-delayed NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Bristol Motor Speedway. The Michael Waltrip Racing driver started 37th and immediately showed his Toyota was one of the fastest on the track. Bowyer climbed to fifth just past the halfway mark as he narrowly missed a multi-car accident that could have ended his race. Bowyer remained at the front of the field and seemed ready to battle for the lead but with less than 30 laps remaining Jamie McMurray’s crash just car lengths in front of the No. 15 collected Bowyer, severely damaging his car. The 5-hour ENERGY crew made repairs and Bowyer survived wild racing and a green-white-checkered finish to end the 500-lap event in 12th. The No.15 team returns to action Saturday night at Richmond International Raceway.   


  • Started 37th and finished 12th
  • Climbed to fifth just past the halfway mark
  • Appeared ready to battle for lead in race’s final stages
  • Collected in crash with less than 30 laps to go


BOWYER: “That was fun tonight. I love racing at Bristol. The guys gave me a car that we thought was going to contend for the win there at the end. Unfortunately, I think Jamie (McMurray) had a problem and we were right there when it happened. There was nothing I could do to avoid it. Just real proud of Brian (Pattie) and the guys. Our 5-hour ENERGY Toyota was dialed in tonight.”


Brett Moffitt Race Summary: No. 55 Aaron’s Dream Machine Camry driver Brett Moffitt finished 17th in Sunday night’s rain-delayed NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Bristol Motor Speedway. The Michael Waltrip Racing driver qualified 24th and moved up to 13th in the early going before a speeding penalty dropped him to 35th. Moffitt began marching toward the front but lost a lap to the leaders as he battled in traffic. Moffitt moved to 21st by the halfway mark that saw only 17 cars on the lead lap. Moffitt turned impressive lap times in the second half of the race, but could never make up two lost laps. Some front-end damage when he narrowly avoided a multicar accident in the final 50 laps kept him from climbing higher than his 17th-place finish. The No. 55 team returns to action Saturday night at Richmond International Raceway.     


  • Qualified 24th and finished 17th
  • Moved to 13th through pit strategy but speeding penalty dropped him to rear of the field
  • Worked his way back to 17th
  • Avoided multicar accident in final laps
  • Moffitt earned rookie of the race for the fourth consecutive race
  • Moffitt is 30th in driver points and the No. 55 is 26th in owner points


MOFFITT: “What a long race, but Bristol is fun. I hate we lost a lot of spots early with the penalty but we had a decent comeback. The guys gave me a really good car and worked hard all night.”



  • Matt Kenseth edged by Jimmie Johnson by 0.287 seconds
  • Jeff Gordon, Ryan Newman and Kyle Larson rounded out the top-five finishers
  • Eleven cautions slowed the race for 117 laps
  • Race featured 21 lead changes among six drivers



1          Matt Kenseth

2          Jimmie Johnson

3          Jeff Gordon

4          Ryan Newman

5          Tony Stewart

6          Kyle Larson

7          Justin Allgaier

8          Danica Patrick

9          Austin Dillon

10        Paul Menard

11        Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

12        Clint Bowyer

13        Aric Almirola

14        Jamie McMurray

15        Kurt Busch

16        Dale Earnhardt Jr.

17        Brett Moffitt

18        David Gilliland

19        Sam Hornish Jr.

20        Alex Bowman

21        Matt DiBenedetto

22        Michael McDowell

23        Michael Annett

24        Carl Edwards

25        Chris Buescher

26        Denny Hamlin

27        Cole Whitt

28        Trevor Bayne

29        Martin Truex Jr.

30        Greg Biffle

31        Mike Bliss

32        J.J. Yeley

33        Alex Kennedy

34        AJ Allmendinger

35        Brad Keselowski

36        Casey Mears

37        Kasey Kahne

38        Kevin Harvick

39        Josh Wise

40        Joey Logano

41        David Ragan

42        Jeb Burton

43        Landon Cassill




RK       DRIVER                      POINTS/WINS

1          Kevin Harvick              314      2

2          Jimmie Johnson          258      2

3          Joey Logano               285      1

4          Brad Keselowski         255      1

5          Matt Kenseth               236      1

6          Denny Hamlin             223      1

7          Martin Truex Jr.           281      0

8          Dale Earnhardt Jr.       241      0

9          Kasey Kahne              237      0

10        Jeff Gordon                 227      0

11        Aric Almirola               226      0

12        Jamie McMurray         223      0

13        Danica Patrick            212      0

14        Paul Menard                211      0

15        Ryan Newman            203      0

16        Carl Edwards              203      0

17        Clint Bowyer               200      0

18        David Ragan               97      0

19        Casey Mears               186      0

20        Greg Biffle                   180      0

21        Austin Dillon                178      0

22        Kurt Busch                  174      0

23        Kyle Larson                 174      0

24        AJ Allmendinger          171      0

25        Ricky Stenhouse Jr.    166      0

26        David Gilliland             162      0

27        Trevor Bayne              154      0

28        Tony Stewart               146      0

29        Justin Allgaier             146      0

30        Sam Hornish Jr.          135      0

31        Cole Whitt                   128      0

32        Alex Bowman              91        0

33        Michael Annett            90        0

34        Josh Wise                   63        0

35        Brian Vickers               32        0

Read More News

Race Previews  |  Qualifying Reports  |  Race Reports  |  Press Releases