22nd Brett Moffitt

30th Clint Bowyer


Brett Moffitt Race Summary: No. 55 Janssen Toyota Camry driver Brett Moffitt finished 22nd in Sunday’s NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Auto Club Speedway. The Michael Waltrip Racing driver qualified 30th but hit the wall during qualifying forcing the 22-year-old to a back-up car for the race. Moffitt quickly worked his way up from 43rd to 27th in just 26 laps. However, an ill-handling race car halted his march through the field. The Grimes, Iowa native fell off the lead lap three times during the scheduled 400-miler but took the wave around each time to rejoin the leaders. A caution flag flew with just two laps remaining setting up the race’s first green-white-checkered finish. Moffitt restarted 25th and grabbed 10 spots on the restart climbing to 15th when the caution flag flew once again. On the second green-white-checkered finish Moffitt was shuffled back a few spots in the wild racing and finished 22nd. Moffitt was the highest finishing rookie of the race and the third highest finishing Toyota driver. Moffitt replaced Brian Vickers who was sidelined because of treatment for blood clots. The No. 55 team returns to action Sunday at Martinsville Speedway.     


  • Qualified 30th and finished 22nd  
  • Gained 16 positions in the first 26 laps
  • Took the wave around on the lap 98, lap 152 and lap 184 cautions
  • Jumped 25th to 15th on first green-white-checked restart  
  • No. 55 is 25th in owner points.
  • Moffitt replaced Brian Vickers who was sidelined because of treatment for blood clots


MOFFITT: "Billy (Scott, crew chief) did a good job on top of the box and helped me a lot today. This was my first race on this track and I learned a lot. We got back on the lead lap after working on that most of the race. The second-to-the-last restart went really well and we passed a bunch of cars. We were up to 15th and things were looking great. On the last restart, they kind of took advantage of us and I fell back to 22nd. It’s not what we are after, but 22nd feels pretty good. We’ll keep getting better. Very thankful to the pit crew as well, they did a great job all day long."


Clint Bowyer Race Summary: No. 15 BlueDEF Toyota driver Clint Bowyer finished 30th in Sunday’s NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Auto Club Speedway. The Michael Waltrip Racing driver started 10th and reported a tight handling condition early in the race. Crew chief Brian Pattie and the crew worked throughout the race to improve the handling as Bowyer moved toward the front of the field. He was in position for a top-15 finish in the closing laps before several cautions bunched the field and forced two green-white-checkered finishes. On the final restart, Bowyer and Greg Biffle made contact in turn four dropping Bowyer to 30th. The No.15 team returns to action Sunday at Martinsville Speedway.   


  • Started 10th and finished 30th
  • Crew worked on the handling of Bowyer’s chassis throughout the race
  • Was in position for a top-15 finish in the closing laps
  • Bowyer and Greg Biffle made contact on the final restart dropping Bowyer to 30th.


BOWYER: “We worked hard on the handling of our BlueDEF Toyota all day. Thought we were going to pull off a top-15 finish after all of our work, but everyone was going everywhere on that final green-white-checkered finish and we got collected.”



  • Brad Keselowski edged Kevin Harvick by 0.710 seconds
  • Kurt Busch, Paul Menard and Ryan Newman rounded out the top five finishers
  • Seven cautions slowed the race for 31 laps
  • Race featured 19 lead changes among nine drivers



1          Brad Keselowski

2          Kevin Harvick

3          Kurt Busch

4          Paul Menard

5          Ryan Newman

6          Dale Earnhardt Jr.

7          Joey Logano

8          Martin Truex Jr.

9          Jimmie Johnson

10        Jeff Gordon

11        Aric Almirola

12        Justin Allgaier

13        Carl Edwards

14        Tony Stewart

15        Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

16        Austin Dillon

17        Kasey Kahne

18        David Ragan

19        Danica Patrick

20        Chris Buescher

21        Jamie McMurray

22        Brett Moffitt

23        Casey Mears

24        Cole Whitt

25        Landon Cassill

26        Kyle Larson

27        Brian Scott

28        Denny Hamlin

29        Trevor Bayne

30        Clint Bowyer

31        Matt Kenseth

32        Greg Biffle

33        Alex Bowman

34        AJ Allmendinger

35        David Gilliland

36        Josh Wise

37        J.J. Yeley

38        Michael Annett

39        Jeb Burton

40        Mike Bliss

41        Brendan Gaughan

42        Matt DiBenedetto

43        Sam Hornish Jr.



RK       DRIVER                                  POINTS/WINS

1          Kevin Harvick                          225      2

2          Joey Logano                 197      1

3          Brad Keselowski                     163      1

4          Jimmie Johnson                      159      1

5          Martin Truex Jr.                         192      0

6          Dale Earnhardt Jr.                   164      0

7          Ryan Newman             162      0

8          Kasey Kahne                159      0

9          Paul Menard                            152      0

10        Aric Almirola                            138      0

11        AJ Allmendinger                       137      0

12        Casey Mears                           132      0

13        Matt Kenseth                           127      0

14        Denny Hamlin                          125      0

15        David Ragan                            124      0

16        Jamie McMurray           120      0

17        Carl Edwards                           120      0

18        Kyle Larson                             116      0

19        Austin Dillon                            116      0

20        Clint Bowyer                            115      0

21        Greg Biffle                               113      0

22        Jeff Gordon                             112      0

23        Danica Patrick                         111      0

24        Justin Allgaier               102      0

25        David Gilliland                         101      0

26        Ricky Stenhouse Jr.                  99       0

27        Trevor Bayne                              86        0

28        Kurt Busch                                82        0

29        Sam Hornish Jr.                        80        0

30        Cole Whitt                                 80        0

31        Brett Moffitt                     78        0

32        Tony Stewart                             62        0

33        Michael Annett                          60        0

34        Alex Bowman                            49        0

35        Michael McDowell                     44        0

Read More News

Race Previews  |  Qualifying Reports  |  Race Reports  |  Press Releases