MWR Results:

6th       Clint Bowyer

19th     Brian Vickers


Clint Bowyer Race Summary: No. 15 5-hour ENERGY Toyota driver Clint Bowyer finished sixth in Sunday’s NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Michigan International Speedway. The Michael Waltrip Racing driver started 19th and made slow but steady progress toward the front of the field in the first half of the race. Bowyer climbed to 13th with 50 laps to go and used a timely caution to claim eighth with 29 laps remaining. Bowyer raced wheel-to-wheel on the high speed track in the closing laps to secure the sixth-place finish. The top-10 finish was his 10th of the 2014 season and moves him from 16th to 15th in the 16-driver NASCAR Chase for the Sprint Cup standings. He holds a 22-point advantage over the 17th place driver. The No. 15 team returns to action Saturday night at Bristol Motor Speedway.


  • Started 19th and finished sixth
  • Made slow but steady progress toward the front in the first half of the race
  • Moved to 13th with 50 laps remaining
  • Ran eighth with 29 laps to go and moved to sixth in the closing laps
  • Moves from 16th to 15th in Chase Standings


BOWYER: “We just did what we needed to do today. Everybody worked as a team all weekend long. It was a long, hard-fought battle. Restarts were very important. Brian (Pattie, crew chief) had good strategy. Right now, everything has to be perfect to get a decent finish and today everything was perfect. This is a tricky part of the season. Everybody is pushing hard. You got a lot of guys coming from behind that are getting their stuff working better. Everybody’s working hard. It’s that time of year.”


Brian Vickers Race Summary: No. 55 Aaron’s Dream Machine driver Brian Vickers finished 19th in Sunday’s NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Michigan International Speedway. The Michael Waltrip Racing driver started fourth and raced in the top-10 in the first half of the race. With 80 laps to go, a tire vibration forced Vickers to pit lane for an unscheduled stop. The stop dropped him to 20th and a lap behind the leaders. Vickers continued turning quick lap times and moved into position to get a free pass and return to the lead lap. Those hopes ended when he spun with 26 laps to go forcing another unscheduled stop. After minor repairs, Vickers moved back in position for the free pass in the closing laps but the race ran caution free. The No. 55 Aaron’s team returns to action Saturday night at Bristol Motor Speedway. 


  • Started fourth and finished 19th
  • Ran in the top 10 the first half of the race
  • A vibration at lap 120 brought him to pit lane for an unscheduled stop dropping the No. 55 to 20th
  • A spin with 26 laps remaining forced another unscheduled stop 
  • Vickers moved into position for the free pass in the closing laps but the caution never fell


VICKERS: “That was a disappointing finish for the Aaron’s Dream Machine today. We were looking pretty good then I had a vibration that shook the car so bad I couldn’t drive it. We had to pit and that got us a lap down. We were in good position to get our lap back, but had a few more things happen and never got the break we needed. We’ll just have to go to Bristol and win the race.”



  • Jeff Gordon won by 1.412 seconds over Kevin Harvick
  • The race lasted two hours and 49 minutes
  • The race featured 20 lead changes among eight drivers
  • The race was slowed by eight cautions for 37 laps



1          Jeff Gordon

2          Kevin Harvick

3          Joey Logano

4          Paul Menard

5          Dale Earnhardt Jr.

6          Clint Bowyer

7          Denny Hamlin

8          Brad Keselowski

9          Jimmie Johnson

10        Greg Biffle

11        Ryan Newman

12        Marcos Ambrose

13        AJ Allmendinger

14        Jamie McMurray

15        Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

16        Kasey Kahne

17        Casey Mears

18        Danica Patrick

19        Brian Vickers

20        Aric Almirola

21        David Gilliland

22        Austin Dillon

23        Carl Edwards

24        David Ragan

25        Cole Whitt

26        Alex Bowman

27        Reed Sorenson

28        Josh Wise

29        Landon Cassill

30        J.J. Yeley

31        Kurt Busch

32        Travis Kvapil

33        Dave Blaney

34        Alex Kennedy

35        Joe Nemechek

36        Martin Truex Jr.

37        Jeff Burton

38        Matt Kenseth

39        Kyle Busch

40        Michael Annett

41        Trevor Bayne

42        Justin Allgaier

43        Kyle Larson



CHASE POINTS (Top 16 earn Chase berths)

RK       DRIVER                                 POINTS/WINS

1          Dale Earnhardt Jr.                  812      3

2          Jeff Gordon                            812      3

3          Brad Keselowski                     732      3

4          Jimmie Johnson                     685      3

5          Joey Logano                           712      2

6          Kevin Harvick                         687      2

7          Carl Edwards                          679      2

8          Kyle Busch                              620      1

9          Denny Hamlin                         589      1

10        Aric Almirola                           556      1

11        AJ Allmendinger                     556      1

12        Kurt Busch                              542      1

13        Matt Kenseth                           709      0

14        Ryan Newman                        678      0

15        Clint Bowyer                           672      0

16        Greg Biffle                              660      0


17        Kasey Kahne                          650      0

18        Austin Dillon                            638      0

19        Kyle Larson                             636      0

20        Marcos Ambrose                    616      0

21        Paul Menard                           614      0

22        Brian Vickers                          598      0

23        Jamie McMurray                    596      0

24        Casey Mears                          543      0

25        Martin Truex Jr.                      516      0

26        Ricky Stenhouse Jr.               476      0

27        Danica Patrick                        445      0

28        Justin Allgaier                          400      0

29        Michael Annett                        364      0

30        David Gilliland                         357      0

31        David Ragan                           332      0

32        Cole Whitt                               325      0

33        Reed Sorenson                       300      0

34        Alex Bowman                         283      0

35        Tony Stewart                          537      0

Read More News

Race Previews  |  Qualifying Reports  |  Race Reports  |  Press Releases